How Much Does the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (TLSAE) Cost?
Florida does not set a single statewide price for the TLSAE or DETS course; each provider prices its own course, and the state's own $3.00 per-completion fee is layered on top in different ways depending on the provider. This page compares published prices so you are not surprised at checkout.
Some of the outbound links on this page are affiliate links (Aceable and DriversEd.com); this site may earn a commission if you enroll through them, at no extra cost to you. See Affiliate disclosure.
How Much Does the Florida TLSAE or DETS Course Cost?
Among 10 providers, course prices range from $19.95 to $29.95, and several providers add a separate $3.00 state assessment fee on top of the advertised course price rather than including it. Providers change prices without notice, so treat every figure below as a starting point to compare, not a guaranteed checkout total.
| Provider | Course | Price | State fee note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Safety Institute | TLSAE (4-hr) | $19.95 | Provider states "No Hidden Fees" | americansafetyinstitute.com |
| Defensive Drivers Institute | DETS (6-hr) | see provider site for current price | Not stated on provider site | defensivedriversinstitute.com |
| Nations Traffic School | TLSAE (4-hr) | see provider site for current price | Provider states its advertised prices are all-inclusive of state assessment fees and certificate processing | nationstrafficschool.com |
| DriveSafeToday | DETS (6-hr) | see provider site for current price | Provider states price includes the $3.00 state assessment fee | drivesafetoday.com |
| Cantor's Driving School (via Safe2Drive) | DETS (6-hr) | see provider site for current price | Provider states a separate $3 FL state processing fee applies | cantorsdrivingschoolfl.com |
| Traffic Safety Institute | TLSAE (4-hr) | $27.99 | Not stated on provider site | trafficsafetyinstitute.com |
| DETSCourse.com | DETS (6-hr) | $29.95 | Provider states "Plus State of Florida Assessment Fee & Provider Processing Fee and ADLTS Fee" | detscourse.com |
| LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com | DETS (6-hr) | $29.95 | Provider states a $3.00 state assessment fee plus a $10.00 provider processing fee and ADLTS testing fees apply | lowestpricetrafficschool.com |
| DrugAndAlcoholCourse.com | TLSAE (4-hr) | $29.95 | Provider states "Plus State of Florida Assessment Fee & Provider Processing Fee" | drugandalcoholcourse.com |
| Palmway Traffic School | TLSAE (4-hr) | $19.95 | Not stated on provider site | palmwayfl.com |
American Safety Institute, Traffic Safety Institute, DETSCourse.com, LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com, DrugAndAlcoholCourse.com, and Palmway Traffic School prices above are each read on the provider's own page (see the Verified date in Sources, below). Defensive Drivers Institute, Nations Traffic School, DriveSafeToday, and Cantor's Driving School do not carry a dedicated course-price page today, so no figure is shown for them above; check each provider's own site for its current price. None of these ten is an affiliate link on this site; they are shown for comparison only.
Are Aceable and DriversEd.com Priced the Same Way?
No: Aceable and DriversEd.com set their own prices, not a regulator fee. Aceable shows $36 regular, $20 sale; DriversEd.com shows $34.95 regular, $24.95 sale, both shown on the provider's own page. This site's outbound links to Aceable and DriversEd.com are affiliate links (see Affiliate disclosure); check each provider's own checkout page for the current price, since a promotional price is not a stable one and both providers show a countdown-timer "sale" price that likely changes.
Is the $3.00 State Fee Included in the Advertised Price?
It depends on the provider. American Safety Institute states its $19.95 price carries no hidden fees, while DETSCourse.com states its $29.95 price is billed plus a separate state assessment fee, so a same-looking price can mean a different actual total. The $3.00 figure itself is not provider-set; F.S. 322.095(4) requires TLSAE providers to collect and remit it to FLHSMV, and DETS providers commonly list the same $3.00 state assessment fee as a line item on their own pricing pages. Read the provider's own pricing page carefully before assuming a lower advertised number is the actual total you will pay.
Does a Lower Price Mean a Lower-Quality Course?
Not necessarily. Every provider delivering TLSAE or DETS must meet the same statutory hour count and pass the same FLHSMV approval process, so price differences reflect provider business models, not different course content requirements. What price does not tell you is whether a provider is actually name-matched against FLHSMV's own approved-provider listing; see Approved providers for that separate check, since a cheap course from a provider not on FLHSMV's approved-provider listing carries more risk than a slightly more expensive one from a listed provider.
See also: Florida drug and alcohol course hub | Requirements | Approved providers | How it works
Sources
| Fact | Value | Authority | URL | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Safety Institute TLSAE price | $19.95 | americansafetyinstitute.com (provider) | https://www.americansafetyinstitute.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| Traffic Safety Institute TLSAE price | $27.99 | trafficsafetyinstitute.com (provider) | https://www.trafficsafetyinstitute.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| DETSCourse.com DETS price | $29.95 | detscourse.com (provider) | https://www.detscourse.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com DETS price | $29.95 | lowestpricetrafficschool.com (provider) | https://www.lowestpricetrafficschool.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| DrugAndAlcoholCourse.com TLSAE price | $29.95 | drugandalcoholcourse.com (provider) | https://www.drugandalcoholcourse.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| Palmway Traffic School TLSAE price | $19.95 | palmwayfl.com (provider) | https://www.palmwayfl.com/ | 2026-09-19 |
| $3.00 per-completion state fee, TLSAE | $3.00 | FLHSMV / F.S. 322.095 | http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0322/Sections/0322.095.html | 2026-09-19 |
| Aceable TLSAE price (provider-sourced, not regulator-confirmed) | $36 regular / $20 sale | aceable.com (provider) | https://www.aceable.com/drivers-ed/florida/drug-alcohol-course/ | 2026-09-19 |
| DriversEd.com TLSAE price (provider-sourced, not regulator-confirmed) | $34.95 regular / $24.95 sale | driversed.com (provider) | https://driversed.com/florida/drug-and-alcohol/ | 2026-09-19 |
| No general refund rule for TLSAE/DETS; provider-error accommodation only | F.S. 322.095(8) | Florida Legislature | http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0322/Sections/0322.095.html | 2026-09-19 |
| No TLSAE/DETS military or student fee waiver in Ch. 295 (Veterans) | None | Florida Legislature | http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0200-0299/0295/0295ContentsIndex.html | 2026-09-19 |
Frequently asked questions
Is there a cheaper option than $19.95?
Not among the providers on this page with a confirmed current price; American Safety Institute and Palmway Traffic School were tied at $19.95, the lowest confirmed figure among them.
Why do TLSAE and DETS prices overlap in the same range?
Both courses are priced independently by each provider and are not required by statute to cost the same amount; the $19.95-$29.95 range spans providers offering either course.
Does the state get all $29.95 from the most expensive provider?
No. The state only receives the $3.00 per-completion assessment fee regardless of what the provider charges; the rest of the price is the provider's own course fee.
Can I get a refund if I do not finish the course?
F.S. 322.095's full text sets no general refund rule; its only cost-related protection is subsection (8), which requires a provider to accommodate a student who cannot finish "due to action, error, or omission on the part of the course provider" at no additional cost, a narrower guarantee than a refund. F.S. 318.1451 sets a refund/forfeiture rule for a different course family (Basic and Advanced Driver Improvement, the citation-election courses), not for TLSAE or DETS by its text. Outside that provider-error accommodation, refund policies for TLSAE/DETS are set by each individual provider - check the specific provider's policy before paying.
Do military members or students get a discount?
F.S. 322.095's full text carries no military or student fee waiver for the TLSAE/DETS course fee. FLHSMV's fee schedule waives only a separate $6.25 tax-collector service fee for veterans, not the course fee itself. Florida Statutes Chapter 295 (Veterans) has no TLSAE-specific waiver either; its one fee-exemption provision, section 295.16, exempts a totally and permanently disabled veteran from a local building or improvement-permit fee for making their own residence accessible (ramps, widened doors), which has nothing to do with a driver's license or any course fee. Some providers may offer their own promotional discounts independent of any state rule.
Will clicking an Aceable or DriversEd.com link change the price I pay?
No. Affiliate links change how this site is compensated, not the price you pay the provider. See Affiliate disclosure for the full statement.